Banana Bash

What is it?

Banana Bash is a Motorsport event run by QLD Rovers; Each Rover Crew builds and drives their own vehicle, courses/scoring are based on skill, not speed!

When Does it Run?

Banana Bash currently runs on the October long weekend, so the dates for the 2016 event are 30th of September-3rd of October.

Where is it?

This year’s Bash will be held at a private site in Pine Mountain, Queensland.

Where Can I Find The Banana Bash Manual?

Right here, friendo. Please note the additional requirements for harnesses in the updated (2016) manual.

You can also find the Competitors Manual for the 2016 event here.

The manual for Visitors day is available from here.

Who Can Attend?

Only current rovers are permitted to attend the event, except for visitors day. On visitors day (Sunday), the event is open to the public to come and observe, and we encourage members of other sections to come along and take a look.


Merchandise is only available by preorder, and must be paid for by the 1/09/2016 for the 2016 event. See below for a preview of what the shirts will look like for 2016.


Contact Information

Updates are regularly posted to the Facebook page. Alternatively, you can email

Banana Bash History

Banana Bash was started in 1983, after Peter Spowart and Derrick Kennedy returned from a trip to the Mud Bash (Victoria). Seventeen Rover Crews and 180 campers competed that weekend, including Bilyana, Geebung, The Gap, Indooroopilly, Kenmore, Manatunga, Newtown, Surfer’s Paradise, Tandara, Toohey’s Mountain, Wallaween, Wilson, Nundah and Grovely, who took away overall first place.

The event has had its up’s and down’s over the years, at one point involving an extended committee of forty people, a budget of $50,000, forty-five competing crews and 800 campers. Sadly, after insurance issues saw the two-year cancellation of the event in 2011, our numbers were somewhat diminished by the time Kate Rimon worked with her committee to restore the event in 2013.

Today, Banana Bash is back where it started, and that’s fine by us. 2015 saw 193 campers, and approximately 15 competing crews, and at the time of writing, we are on track to achieve similar numbers for this, our 30th year.

Past Banana Bash Chairs

1983: Peter Spowart/Derrick Kennedy
1984: Derrick Kennedy
1985: Ray Mitchell
1986: David Gough
1987: David Gough
1988: Glen Mumford/Tony Woodgate
1989: Tony Woodgate
1990: David Walker
1991: Simon Sawyer
1992: Richard Kirkham
1993: Mark Heather
1994: Sonya Walker/David Walker
1995: Jane Shaw
1996: Brad Stenzel
1997: Nigel Ward
1998: Brian Dann
1999: Brian Dann
2000: Simon Hanion
2001: Letitia Dann
2002: Justin Mulligan
2003: Not Run
2004: Chris Isles
2005: Jason Hennessy
2006: Michael Gardiner
2007: Anne Smith
2008: Geoff Clark
2009: Philip Verner (25 Years)
2010: Jaqueline May
2011: Kyle Zinc (Dude Where’s My Bash)
2012: Not Run
2013: Kate Rimon
2014: Sam Caterer
2015: Tahlia Johnston

Leave a Reply